Affiliate marketing is receiving some not so great publicity…again. This time it comes from Rik Ferguson over at TrendMicro blog as he reveals a Facebook Account Upgrade Scam, where fan pages promote a Gold Facebook account upgrade. Of course, there is no such thing as a gold Facebook account.
From Rik Ferguson’s blog post (bolding by me for emphasis):
So what’s the point for the scammer? Well if you follow all the instructions, you first invite all your friends to come and check out this (cough) great deal. Then, if you are credulous enough to click the button, you are informed that in order to access the Account Upgrade page you must complete “1 quick, free survey”, different versions of the scam page offer different surveys, but this is where the money is made.
The survey I tested linked (via a couple of affiliate marketing services) to a “Werewolf vs. Vampire” quiz which promised to tell me which I am (surely I should know that already?) at the end of the ten questions I am invited to enter my mobile phone number to receive my results. If I do that I am agreeing to pay a £9.00 joining fee followed by £9.00 every week until I cancel my membership via SMS.
Of course, I immediately wanted to know which affiliate networks were involved considering TrendMirco’s report of around one million Facebook user’s being subscribed to the numerous fake gold account fan pages.
The Gory (Albeit Probably Boring) Details
Although, it was stated that the scam had been reported to Facebook and the content was most likely being removed, I got out my shovel and began digging. A quick Google search showed the content was being removed, but I was able to quickly pull up some of the offending pages courtesy of Google cache (see below).

The first thing I noticed was that the affiliate behind the fake Facebook upgrades appears to be geo-targeting the offers displayed to the end user. While Rik Ferguson obviously received UK cell phone offers, the offers displayed to me were US based offers (see below).

The actual offers differed at times, but all pretty much followed the same CPA network click stream. The irony of one of the quizzes being called “How Dumb Are You” was not lost on me.
The domain responsible for the above display on Facebook is corporate-promo-mfg.com. This domain was consistent throughout all of my research.
The affiliate link on corporate-promo-mfg.com is for CPALead with the publisher id 42109. Whois records for CPALead.com show the company as located in Wisconsin. The contact information on their web site indicates they are located in Las Vegas, NV.
CPALead redirects the click to click2go.org with an affiliate id of 3013 and sub id 42109 (passing the original publisher id). Click2go uses a Privacy Whois service, however the IP Location is tied to TattoMedia.
TattoMedia is certainly a player in these types of SMS ads and I’ve come across them numerous times in connection with adware usage. At this point, CPALead is acting as an affiliate/publisher of TattoMedia.
Click2Go then redirects the click to webventures.directtrack.com with the aff id CD43 and sub id 3013 (the id for CPALead as an affiliate with TattoMedia). Note that at this point, the original affiliate/publisher id is no longer being carried through on the actual tracking links. If you go to webventures.directtrack.com, you are brought to a sign-up page for MundoMedia.com. MundoMedia uses a Privacy Whois service as well, but their web site shows contact information for Toronto and Los Angeles.
MundoMedia redirects the click to linktrack66.com containing the same aff id and sub id. Linktrack66.com is another tracking domain associated with MundoMedia.
Finally the click is redirected to MyMindQuizzes.com where the actual survey resides. MyMindQuizzes also uses a Privacy Whois service but resides on the same IP address as MundoMedia. Sometimes CPA networks will host a sign-up form for an advertiser on their own servers; other times it may be the CPA network themselves in ownership of the offer. Looking at the Terms of Service page on MyMindQuizzes, I found mention of the company name Neo Image.
The short version is I found three CPA Networks involved in these deceptive Facebook ads: CPALead, TattoMedia and MundoMedia.
The Plot Thickens
You may be asking yourself “So what, the fraudulent ads were reported and Facebook removed the pages. It’s just a little bit of bad PR that will most likely quickly fade in people’s memory.”
If only that was case. The reality is that people who are making some nice change, regardless of how they are making it, aren’t always willing to give it up quickly. TrendMicro reported the incident on Monday. On Wednesday I did a search through Facebook (not Google but Facebook) and I found several new and active fake Facebook Gold Account fan pages with fan totals in the tens of thousands. When I viewed the profile pictures of one of these new accounts I saw pictures were added Monday. Even while Facebook was removing pages, new ones were evidently being set up.
Some of those pages are now gone, but I see new active pages again today with one simple search.

And while Facebook may be attempting to keep up the affiliate links involved remain active. There does not appear to have been any termination of the affiliate account by the CPA networks. Indeed, if you recall I went from a Google cached page on the account on Facebook to even track which CPA Networks were involved.
The Implications
There are several implications to this type of situation. The most obvious is while the incidents were initially reported in the UK, they are now happening in the US as well. There is no way this ad promotion will meet the FTC guidelines regarding deceptive advertising practices. You don’t have to be a lawyer to figure that one out. When you start hitting numbers of consumers in the million plus range being potentially impacted, it’s almost like screaming for the FTC big stick to head your way. Everyone in the click stream trail is at legal risk.
What about those consumers? If you look at the last screen shot I posted, you’ll see that Facebook groups against this one particular scam are beginning to form. I’ll hazard a wild guess and say consumers aren’t happy about it either.
Is it a wonder that security companies tend to be less than affectionate towards affiliates? This type of activity certainly doesn’t help our case, particularly when they have seen affiliate links tied to scams, adware and the such for years now. It should be noted that Rik Ferguson didn’t say “CPA Network affiliates”, he said “affiliate marketing”.
The lack of transparency build into the sub-affiliate model should be neither an inherent excuse nor a mechanism to hide behind when it comes to ensuring fraudulent activities do not tarnish and stain our whole industry. It’s not like we are talking about an affiliate who is capable of generating only a limited number of ad views. If a network cannot monitor traffic from an affiliate at that level, then they probably shouldn’t be a network. CPA Networks must become more active in establishing acceptable marketing practices, monitoring their programs and taking action on offenses within the industry and as an industry, we must be clear to those outside of our industry, including consumers, that these types of fraudulent marketing practices are unacceptable.
These types of incidents impact our industry as a whole and how we function and navigate within it. Please stay tuned for Part Two of the post.
I wish that I could say “the end” but it’s not the end of story. That’s will Part 2 of this post.
Go here to read the rest:
Black Hat Affiliate Tactics in the Facebook Era





various products. Facebook has already partnered with Paypal to offer payment services for advertisements and gifts amongst other things. The international appeal and recognition of Paypal has been a major influence on Facebook’s recent partnership. It is expected to increase advertisement income – a major source of revenue for Facebook.

